Home / Types and Staging / Types and Staging of Lung Cancer

Types and Staging of Lung Cancer

There are two main kinds of lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) and small cell lung cancer (SCLC). Staging lung cancer relies on whether or not the cancer is native or has unfold from the lungs to the lymph nodes or different organs. As a result of the lungs are massive, tumors can develop in them for a very long time earlier than they’re discovered. Even when signs—similar to coughing and fatigue—do happen, individuals assume they’re attributable to different causes. Because of this, early-stage lung cancer (phases I and II) is troublesome to detect.

Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

Non-small cell lung cancer accounts for about 85 % of lung cancers and contains:

  • Adenocarcinoma, the commonest type of lung cancer in the US amongst each women and men;
  • Squamous cell carcinoma, which accounts for 25 % of all lung cancers;
  • Massive cell carcinoma, which accounts for about 10 p.c of NSCLC tumors.


Stage I: The cancer is positioned solely within the lungs and has not unfold to any lymph nodes.

Stage II: The cancer is within the lung and close by lymph nodes.

Stage III: Cancer is discovered within the lung and within the lymph nodes in the midst of the chest, additionally described as domestically superior illness. Stage III has two subtypes:

  • If the cancer has unfold solely to lymph nodes on the identical facet of the chest the place the cancer began, it’s referred to as stage IIIA.
  • If the cancer has unfold to the lymph nodes on the alternative facet of the chest, or above the collar bone, it’s referred to as stage IIIB.

Stage IV: That is probably the most superior stage of lung cancer, and can also be described as superior illness. That is when the cancer has unfold to each lungs, to fluid within the space across the lungs, or to a different a part of the physique, such because the liver or different organs.

Small Cell Lung Cancer

Small cell lung cancer accounts for the remaining 15 % of lung cancers in the US. They have a tendency to develop extra shortly than NSCLC tumors. Normally, SCLC is extra aware of chemotherapy than NSCLC.

Levels of Small Cell Lung Cancer

Restricted stage: On this stage, cancer is discovered on one facet of the chest, involving only one a part of the lung and close by lymph nodes.

In depth stage: On this stage, cancer has unfold to different areas of the chest or different elements of the physique.

The American Joint Fee on Cancer carried out a extra detailed staging system wherein the levels of small cell lung cancer are described utilizing Roman numerals and letters (for instance, Stage IIA). This is similar methodology that’s used for non-small cell lung cancer in describing the expansion and unfold of the cancer.

About admin

Check Also

Limited and extensive stage (small cell lung cancer)

Examine what restricted illness and extensive illness means for small cell lung cancer. The stage …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *